Link Disavow Tool Gets an Upgrade

disavow

So for example if in stead of submitting URLs you’re submitting domain names without the “domain:” entry before that listing then that’s something we’d flag in the disavow file and let you know as soon as you upload that file.
John Mueller from Google has recently stated1 that the link disavow tool had a little upgrade. Their team has made the tool smarter and safer to use by adding a feature which checks for common mistakes. The tool will now automatically flag potential issues upon file upload allowing webmasters to correct and re-upload the error-free file.

To test the new feature we did a broken disavow file upload.

The content of our disavow file was this:

http://google.com
domain http://google.com
text
777

when tried uploading that file we got the following message:

Disavow Notification

We also got a clarification2 on how to manage disavow files of migrated websites (redirected domains). My original question: “I currently place both old and new domain links in the new domain’s link disavow file. Is it necessary to maintain two link disavow files (one for each domain) if a website has been moved to a new domain and 301 redirects are in place?”

In most cases where Google’s processed the site move and all links are properly mapped it would only be necessary to have the disavow file on the new domain. However, John stated that he would personally place a disavow file on both domains, just to be safe, particularly if the redirect is fresh.

The good news is that you can upload the same file for both domains, which could potentially save a lot of time in set-up and maintenance of the disavow file(s).

 

References:
  1. http://youtu.be/kv7u4-MU-8k?t=42m25s []
  2. http://youtu.be/kv7u4-MU-8k?t=41m35s []

Dan Petrovic, the managing director of DEJAN, is Australia’s best-known name in the field of search engine optimisation. Dan is a web author, innovator and a highly regarded search industry event speaker.

More Posts - Website